Coding Challenge #00: Step-by-step guide on how to solve daily coding challenges

Coding Challenge #00: Step-by-step guide on how to solve daily coding challenges

I enthusiastically joined the Women Who Code Python community for their daily coding challenges.

·

7 min read

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Earlier this year, Women Who Code launched its WWCode Days of Code Challenge 2024. Participants could choose challenges ranging from machine learning and mobile to Python, cloud, data, and other emerging technologies.

I enthusiastically joined the Women Who Code Python community for their daily coding challenges. This blog series of mine named, "Coding Challenge" will serve as my documentation and accountability to consistency.

💡
To enhance the experience for all WWCode Days of Code Challenge 2024 participants, I also crafted a nifty "checklist" or tracker. Excited to share that it's already making waves within the community! Check it out here: https://lnkd.in/dPuX7_qc

As a novice, the task of choosing a programming language felt daunting due to the abundance of options available. Each language offered unique ways of building and diverse job opportunities.

This year, I've ultimately decided to hone my skills in one particular programming language, and that is Python. However, it's worth noting that I remain receptive to learning the other languages, for the time being, Python is my primary focus.

And as someone in their first year in the tech career, I relied on the existing open-source community for articles on tackling daily coding problems. Here are some helpful resources I found:

- https://lnkd.in/d_2nyjji - https://lnkd.in/dSUf7wfY - https://lnkd.in/dBJEQhHd - https://lnkd.in/dENa2v2x - https://lnkd.in/da_aWui8

From the resources above. I've created my own step-by-step template guide on how I can start to solve a daily coding challenge. This blueprint is designed to make my journey realistic and achievable. It consists of the following components:

  1. Understand the Problem:

    The first step in solving any coding challenge is to understand the problem at hand. I'll take a moment to analyze the inputs, outputs, and any restrictions provided. Ask myself questions like:

    • What are the inputs?

    • What are the expected outputs?

    • Do I understand what is the given input and expected output?

    • Are there any limitations or restrictions on the inputs?

    • How can I rephrase this challenge in my own words that I can understand?

    • Can I explain the problem to someone else?

Read through the problem out loud. Understanding these aspects will lay a solid foundation for tackling the challenge effectively. I can use the template below to get started.

# 1. Understand the Problem
# Inputs: 
# Outputs: 
# Restrictions: 
# Rephrase the challenge using my own words:
  1. Examples:

    Once I've grasped the problem, it's time to explore examples. This is to create sample inputs and corresponding outputs to visualize the problem. Ask myself questions like:

    • What’s an example input? What is the output to this?

    • What are the data types?

    • What should I do if the inputs are different data types?

    • What if there are no inputs? Should I return undefined?

# Example 1:
# Input: 
# Output:

# Example 2:
# Input: 
# Output:

# Example 3:
# Input: 
# Output:

Computer science professor Evans says to write what developers call defensive code. Think about what could go wrong and how your code could defend against possible errors.

  1. Pseudocode:

    This is when I ask, in my own words, how can I solve this challenge? Pseudocode is defined a way of writing or a step-by-step description of a programming code or algorithms in a natural language such as English. Tips I gather writing pseudocode:

    • Break down the problem into smaller steps and devise a plan for solving it.

    • What would be the instruction for this challenge?

    • Pseudocode serves as a roadmap for your solution, outlining the logical steps without worrying about syntax

    • Use comments to articulate your thought process and algorithmic approach.

    • Clarify any part of it you do not understand.

      For example:

# Pseudocode:
# 1. Step one...
# 2. Step two...
# 3. ...
  1. Solve/Simplify:

    Here's when with a plan in place, I write out the actual code. And make a lot of fun and errors! Focusing on clarity and readability, breaking down the problem into manageable chunks.

# Code:
# 1. Step one...
# Delete this line and type your code here
# 2. Step two...
# Delete this line and type your code here
# 3. ...
# Delete this line and type your code here

What if I can’t solve the entire problem? What if there's a part of it I still don't know how to solve?

Colt Steele gives great advice here: If you can’t solve part of the problem, ignore that hard part that’s tripping you up. Instead, focus on everything else that you can start writing.

So if you encounter challenges along the way, don't get discouraged. Simplify the problem or focus on the parts you understand.

  1. Test the code: Run the code and test it with different inputs to ensure it works as expected.

     # Test
    
     # Case 1:
     # Case 2:
     # Case 3:
    
  2. Refactor or Look Back:

    Now that I've got a solution that works, it's time to polish it up and make sure it's top-notch. Here's what I can do next:

    • Readability and Naming: Can I understand what each part of my code does just by looking at it? Is the code easy to read? Is it intuitive? Are my variable and function names descriptive and following naming conventions?

    • Performance and Optimization: Is there any redundant code that can be removed? Analyze the algorithms and data structures to identify areas where optimization is possible without sacrificing clarity.

    • Coverage of Inputs and Edge Cases: Does the code handle all possible inputs and edge cases? Have I considered scenarios where unexpected inputs or conditions might arise?

    • Explore Alternatives: Is there a simpler or more efficient method I haven't considered? Could a different data structure or algorithm improve my solution?

    • Error Handling: Are there specific error messages or exceptions I should be catching and handling? Can I provide helpful feedback to users if something goes wrong?

    • Complexity Analysis: How efficient is my code in terms of execution time? How much memory does my code consume, especially for large inputs? Can I optimize my solution to reduce time or space requirements?

    • Version control: Consider using version control systems like Git to track changes and collaborate with others.

By addressing these aspects during the review process, I can refine my solution and elevate my coding skills to the next level. Keep iterating, keep learning, and keep improving!

  1. Double check your documentation:

    Finally, don't forget about documentation. Write a README file explaining how to use and run the code.

  2. Optional: Document errors you encountered

    • Include any error messages or stack traces provided by the interpreter or compiler.

    • Try to pinpoint the root cause of the error. Was it a syntax error, a logical error, or something else? Understanding why the error occurred can help prevent similar issues in the future.

    • If I were able to resolve the error, explain how I did so. Did I debug the code line by line, consult documentation or online resources, or seek help from a peer? Sharing my troubleshooting process can be enlightening for others.

    # Error 1
    # ErrorName

    # Error 2
    # ErrorName
  1. Submit the solution. Share your knowledge. Celebrate!

    • Make sure to follow the submission guidelines. Double-check that the code meets all the requirements and passes any provided test cases.

    • If I've gained insights or learned valuable lessons during the process, I can consider sharing them with others. Whether it's through a blog post, a tutorial, or simply helping out a fellow programmer, sharing my knowledge can be incredibly rewarding.

    • I won't forget to take a moment to acknowledge and celebrate my accomplishment! Whether it's treating myself to walk outside or simply patting myself on the back.

By using this step-by-step template guide, you'll be well-equipped too to tackle Python or any programming challenges with confidence, even as a beginner. Happy coding!

💡
I'm curious about your experiences too. How did you decide on the programming language to focus on? And, what strategies did you employ to enhance your coding skills beyond daily challenges?

You may find my code and errors for WWCode Python Days of Code Challenge 2024 here: https://lnkd.in/dBixkhnN


Hi everyone! I'm at the beginning of my tech career.

Join me as I share my journey—highlighting progress, making errors, be bff with the bugs, read code like it is a novel, linking helpful resources and improvements into writing documentation.

I'm here to ask plenty of questions, question a lot of concepts and encourage a diverse perspective, all while infusing a touch of humor into the tech world.

Can't wait to learn from you, hear your feedback and engage in discussions with fellow enthusiasts.

Find me here too:

Did you find this article valuable?

Support anj by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!